Chinese Friendship Association Successfully Held the 2016 Annual Meeting of the New Year

2016-02-04 Canadian Federation of Chinese Associations

(Author: Lijia Ping)

On January 30, the Toronto Chinese community awaited to celebrate the 2016 Chinese New Year in Toronto. The Spring Annual Meeting was successfully held in Markham Gibson Centre. This celebration of the New Year had an atmosphere of jubilation.

Although the weather was cold, this did not detract the willingness of patrons to participate in the Annual Meeting, to arrive to the venue and experience the spirit of the New Year. Red parking signs were organized to introduce visitors to the venue. Internal businesses, performers, visitors and recreational activities under the guidance of the staff were conducted in the busy environment. Venues around the walls were covered with posters and different kinds of mascots. People entered the hall feeling a strong New Year’s spirit. According to organizers, about nearly 9,000 patrons came to participate.

2.webp

With enthusiasm, the children from the Six Degrees Art studio kicked off the celebration with the annual children’s dance “Happy New Year Greeting.” After the opening dance, the Friendship Association President from the 26 provinces and the Vice President of the Association joined the stage to greet the patrons. In the ensuing six hours of the show, the organizers prepared a total of 52 programs/performances including soloists, choir, dance, fencing, hip-hop and catwalk. The whole show brought together major performance units and local Chinese groups. “My sun,” “Jasmine,” “Hearsay” and other familiar songs encouraged the audience to feel at home and were met with applause.  

3.webp

Cultural heritage is a major theme for the Chinese New Year. The Spring Festival couplets are an indispensable symbol. For calligraphy art, artists are free to write word scrolls for patrons, but are also welcome to bring painting and calligraphy works for exhibition. A calligrapher commented that the Spring Festival couplets were not only symbolic in nature but contained the aspects of calligraphy, literature, design and art in one, exemplifying the unique cultural phenomenon of Chinese civilization. Patrons were pleased to observe the importance we attach to the traditional culture of China seen in the calligraphy. The Friendship Association is very grateful to have provided a platform for such artists to communicate directly with patrons. 

4.webp

Around the main venue, many stalls were set up with educational resources, financial planning classes, legal advice classes, books, art classes, make-up care, electronics etc. Before each stall were crowds of patrons interested in purchase. The bustling crowds kept the businesses busy. Many nursery schools seized the opportunity to introduce parents and children to their available programs to educate and familiarize families with their business. Booths cost $70. There is a high performance price ratio of promotional activities to other similar large-scale activities.

5.webp

Food has been a favourite among visitors. Chinese food gives a concentrated expression of culture. Of the nearly 30 snack stalls, there was tofu milk tea from the western prairie regions of Tibet and Xinjiang, braised lamb Zhejiang from Shaanxi Rouga Mo, Yunnan rice noodle, Wuhan duck neck, Beijing hawthorn balls, Chengdu sausage and Wenzhou muffin. These were all in effect so that patrons could feel at home and enjoy the flavours representative of their country. No additives were used; natural sausage, bacon and other meats were used.

6.webp

The Chinese writing circle has also been very active. Teacher Chen Ping set up a booth to promote the “Chinese Writers’ Festival.” She said that in Toronto, there are quite a few famous Chinese writers who write to permeate the literary discourse with Chinese thought and culture and to gain recognition in Chinese circles. The promotional aspect of the Annual New Year Meeting allowed her to introduce these writers to patrons and to encourage, through the Chinese Writers’ Festival, the writing and circulation of more Chinese literature.

Many patrons came in families: adults enjoyed the cultural performances, the young snacked on the New Year’s foods and the children played in the playground and partook in various recreational activities. Mr Zhang from Henan said that before he came to Canada, he celebrated the Spring Festival in a large temple, which his family dearly missed. At the Annual New Year Meeting, he experienced the taste of home. When he heard that the staff convened for 1:00pm for venue layout, he thanked the staff for their hard work and expressed his wish for New Year blessings.

7.webp

Reporters on the scene witnessed that the annual Chinese New Year came together through the strong support of the Association and volunteer teams from each Association, always present in a timely manner to solve issues. In each site, you can witness the huge number of staff workers: Han Zhiwei, Yang Shen etc. Having run the annual New Year celebration for five years, these organizers aim to create an atmosphere for celebration that attracts more and more people each successive year. Han Zhiwei is thankful for the success of the activities of the various Associations that increase and strengthen solidarity. Even though people are busy, both in the preparatory and execution process, people take the initiative to solve any problem that arises.

Friendship Association Executive Chairman Yu Ying said in her speech at the opening that the Friendship Association will continue to work with more enthusiasm and spirit towards a broader vision and the execution of more persistent efforts for the Chinese community, practical activities for the elders and to achieve common aspirations for a better future!

8.webp

General Consulate Xue Bing participated in the meeting and spoke highly of the convention events. He observed the enthusiastic participation of the Chinese community in community affairs and social welfare, the promotion of Chinese culture, the enrichment of community cultural life and the promotion of unity expansion in cultural exchanges with Canada. His wishes a happy new year, good luck and health.

9.webp

The Annual New Year Meeting is sponsored by Wealth Management Ltd and Diamond Huawei Group. Federal personnel Tan Geng, Chen Sheng Yuan, Andrew Chan, Li Zhenguang and Mr. Hu Jing attended and delivered a speech.

To brave the day for ten thousand visitors, outdoor vehicle management proved a difficult task. Zhongxing, Sun Zhidong, Han Jialiang and three other Presidents personally selected 24 people from each Association to make up the outdoor vehicle command team.

10.webp

10.webp (1)

Children’s playground and entertainment

 11.webp

12.webp

Children’s playground and entertainment

 13.webp

14.webp

Chinese arts and culture showcase

    15.webp

16.webp

17.webp

18.webp

19.webp

Old Movie Player; Year in Review

20.webp

21.webp

22.webp

23.webp

24.webp

25.webp

 

Bin Liu

Leave a Comment

华人同乡总会成功举办2016 新春年会

2016-02-04 加拿大华人同乡联合总会

(作者:李家平)

1月30日,多伦多华社民众期待已久的”欢庆中国年 相聚多伦多”2016年新春年会在万锦市的Gibson Centre成功举办,为华人社区的农历新年增添了浓浓的喜庆气氛。

 虽然天气寒冷,但是没能阻挡人们参加年会的热情,刚到会场外围,就感受到了新年的味道,红红的停车场指示牌将游客井井有条地引入会场。会场内部的商家、演出人员、游客在工作人员的指引下忙而不乱,各项娱乐设施也是按部就班。会场周围的墙上挂满了各色各样的招贴画和吉祥物,让人一进会场就感受到了强烈的新年味道,后据主办方介绍,大约有近9000名游客前来参与。

2.webp

年会在儿童舞蹈《欢天喜地贺新春》的热烈演出中开场,来自六度空间艺术工作室的孩子们用他们的热情和天真表现了对新年的庆祝。开场舞之后,来自同乡总会的26省市同乡会的会长及副会长们一起登台向全体乡亲拜年。在随后的近6个小时的演出中,主办方共组织了52首节目呈现给游客,内容涵盖了独唱、合唱、舞蹈、戏曲、剑术、HipHop、走秀。整个演出汇集了本地华人的各大演出单位和团体,《我的太阳》《茉莉花》《刘三姐》等一首首耳熟能详的曲目让观众们倍感亲切,不停地报以阵阵掌声。

3.webp

文化传承是新春年会的主题之一,春联也是春节不可缺少的符号。在书法艺术现场,艺术家们免费书写了众多的春联和福字送给游客,还带来了不少书画作品供展览。一位书法家说,春联不仅是春节的象征,而且还集中书法、文学、设计等艺术于一体,是中华文明所特有的文化现象。他们很高兴地看到,随着大家对传统文化的重视,贴春联在华人社区中越来越普遍,很感谢同乡总会能组织这样的平台让他们与游客直接交流。

4.webp

围绕着主会场,周边的区域设置了众多的摊位,有教育类、金融理财类、法律咨询类、书籍类、艺术品类、化妆保健类、电子类等等,每一个摊位前都游客在咨询购买,熙熙攘攘的人流让商家的工作人员忙碌不停。来自一课后托儿学校的负责人说,这已经是她第二次来设摊了。今天接触了很多家长和孩子,利用这个机会,他们把学校向众多的家长做了介绍,现场就有好多家长确定意向,70元的摊位成本,让他们感觉到这确实一个性价比非常高的 推广活动,其它类似的大型活动,其成本要高出这里的数倍。

5.webp

民以食为天。吃,一直是游客们的最爱,中华食文化也在这里得到了集中体现。近30个小吃摊位,有来自西藏、新疆等西部草原地区的奶茶奶豆腐,来自陕西的肉夹馍、凉皮,浙江的红焖羊肉,云南米线,武汉鸭脖,北京山楂球,成都腊肠,温州松糕等,让游客们足不出户,就品尝到各地的代表风味。无添加剂、纯天然的香肠、熏肉等常备年货在现场成了受热捧的对象。

6.webp

一直在华文写作圈很活跃的陈萍老师也在此设了一个摊位用来宣传“华人作家节”。她说,多伦多有相当多有名气的中文作家,他们不停的通过写作来传播华文,传播华人思想,这是传播中华文化的一股重要力量。因为新春年会的推广效应,她希望让过多的人了解这些作家,同时也希望通过设立华人作家节来创作出更多更好的华文作品。

不少游客是全家前来,老人们欣赏各项文艺表演,年轻人品尝小吃,值办年货,孩子们则在游乐场参与到各种游乐项目中,各取其需各得其乐。来自河南的张先生说,老家那里每年春节前都有大型的庙会,来到加拿大后全家人仍然怀念庙会的那种气氛,家里老人很早之前就盼望着能来这里逛逛了。今天来到这里,让他又体验到了家乡的味道。听说工作人员凌晨1点还在布置会场时,他很感谢工作人员为此付出的辛勤劳动,向他们表达新春的祝福。

7.webp

记者在现场看到,新春年会得到了各同乡会的大力支持,来自各同乡会的义工队伍总是及时地出现在需要的地方为游客解决问题。在各个场地,总能看到庞一工、韩志伟、杨申等众多工作人员的身影,会后他们说,同乡总会的新春年会已经连续办了五年,目的是为华人营造新年的节日气氛,每年来的人越来越多,说明受到华人的欢迎。在谈到感受时,韩志伟说,活动的成功举办要感谢各同乡会之间的积极相助,越来越团结。虽然每个人都很忙,无论是筹备过程中还是在当日现场,只要有问题,都会有人主动解决。

同乡总会执行主席俞荧在开幕致辞中说,2016年,同乡总会将继续努力,以更加饱满的热情和奋发向上的精神,以更加广阔的视野和更加执着的努力,为华人社区和父老乡亲们多做事,做实事,实现共同的愿望,共创美好未来!

8.webp

总领事馆薛冰总领事参加了年会并积极评价了年会活动,他说,同乡总会热情参与华社事务和社会公益事业,弘扬中华优秀文化,丰富了社区的文化生活,为促进华社团结壮大及中加文化交流做出了积极贡献。他并祝广大侨胞新春愉快,吉祥安康。

9.webp

本次的新春年会得到了冠名赞助商财富人生财富管理有限公司,钻石赞助华为集团的大力支持。联邦国会议员谭耕、陈家诺、陈圣元,市议员陈志辉,李振光,万锦市议员何胡景等出席并致辞。

一天迎接近万游客,户外的车辆管理成为艰巨的任务,为此钟兴,孙志东,韩加良三位会长亲自出马和各同乡会选派的24人组成了户外车辆指挥团队。

10.webp

10.webp (1)

儿童乐园,有奖儿童游艺

 11.webp

12.webp

有奖谜语,吸引了很多游人

 13.webp

14.webp

文化艺术天地展示中华文化

    15.webp

16.webp

17.webp

18.webp

19.webp

老电影播放回顾当年

20.webp

21.webp

22.webp

23.webp

24.webp

25.webp

 

admin

微信二维码分享本页