Record of Overseas Chinese Roots-Seeking Trip: Summer Camp in Sichuan (2015)

From July 22 to August 1 2015, 180 Chinese youth from around the world gathered in the Bashu Culture Center: the epicenter for explorations in rich cultural heritage in Chengdu, Sichuan. Of Toronto, 20 campers attended. The ten-day summer camp was compact, colourful and deeply worthwhile.


This camp was organized by the Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council and Sichuan Provincial People’s Government. The Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of Sichuan took the event very seriously. Culture and Education Publicity Department Director Yang, Deputy Director Zhang Jing, Zhong Lin, teacher Li Tingting, Fu Yongsheng and Doctor Wu took care of the camp food, shelter and all cultural aspects of learning. Not only that, they provided continual care for the campers.

Campers learning the Bashu culture practiced calligraphy, visited the Silk Brocade Museum, the Jinsha Site Museum and enjoyed the cultural atrefacts of the Prachuab millennium. They also learned about odd Prachuab customs, went Mount Emei, and participated in a Leshan Giant Buddha worship service. They traveled to Dujiangyan Qingcheng Mountain to see the beautiful mountains and rivers. They also partook in Qingcheng martial arts training, learned about the Yingxiu earthquake ruins and the ancient marks of Bashu.

Bashu cuisine needs a heavy wipe to remove its traces. The Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of Sichuan considered that since most campers were not suited to the spicy Sichuan cuisine, they intentionally arranged light, mild dishes. Whether the hotel buffet or a restaurant along the way, food destinations were carefully planned so that campers were not only fed well, but so that they enjoyed authentic Sichuan cuisine.

Ten days from morning till evening, Chinese youth from different countries forged deep friendships. They started to get to know each other starting at Shihai. Since they all had common Chinese roots, they quickly found common ground and began an intimate exchange thereafter. At the closing ceremony, the Canadian campers presented a handmade “Dragon take off” to the Sichuan Provincial Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the leaders, to express gratitude to the organizers for their hard work. The Arts Festival’s closing ceremony of the summer camp was the event’s climax and provided a memorable painting to a perfect end.

To separate is to get together again! Campers were full of gratitude and pride of their nationality. They will send a great message to the new generation of the Chinese young!

One thought on “Record of Overseas Chinese Roots-Seeking Trip: Summer Camp in Sichuan (2015)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

浓情厚意 巴蜀之旅
    -记2015年海外华裔青少年‘寻根之旅’夏令营-四川营


2015年7月22日到8月1日,180名来自世界各地的华裔青少年汇集在富有千年文化底蕴的巴蜀文化中心–成都,参加了为期十天的“2015年海外华裔青少年‘寻根之旅’夏令营四川营” 活动。我们多伦多20名营员参加了此次活动。十天的夏令营内容紧凑、丰富多彩,营员们深感不虚此行。



本期夏令营是由国务院侨务办公室主办、四川省人民政府外事侨务办公室承办。四川省外侨办对此次活动非常重视,文化教育宣传处杨东处长、张竞副处长、林代忠老师、李婷婷老师和付勇胜老师, 伍医生等为夏令营的吃、住、行以及文化学习等各个方面做了精心的安排。不仅如此,他们还在夏令营期间不辞辛苦地全程陪同,对营员细心照料、体贴入微。


夏令营营员们从学习巴蜀文化开始,练习书法;参观蜀锦博物馆、金沙遗址博物馆,领略巴蜀千年之文化;看变脸,观巴蜀人文之奇;走峨眉山,拜乐山大佛,游都江堰,住青城山,看巴蜀大好河山;练青城武功,观映秀地震遗址,脚步踏遍巴蜀古今。

巴蜀之美食亦是需要浓妆重抹的一笔。四川省外侨办考虑到大部分营员不适应川菜的麻辣,特地安排清淡不辣的菜式。无论是酒店的自助餐,出游时的餐饮,都细心安排,营员们不仅吃得饱、吃得好,还品尝到地道的川式美食。

十天的朝夕相处,让这些来自不同国家的华裔青少年结下了深厚的友谊。开始时还互不相识,共同的华夏之根使他们很快便找到了共同点,开始了亲密交流。在闭幕式上,加拿大的营员们还赠送了亲手制作的“金龙腾飞”给四川省侨办的领导们,以表示对主办方的辛勤付出的感谢。闭幕式的文艺汇演更将夏令营推向了高潮,为这难忘的夏令营画上一个完美的句号。

分离是为了再相聚!营员们满怀对祖国的感激和自豪走向世界,做新一代中华文明最好的使者!

Admin

微信二维码分享本页